Accredited programs

The ICFP Board accredited the forensic programmes of North-West University, the University of South Africa (Unisa) and the University of Pretoria.  The accreditation of the programmes means that the Universities have put in place the appropriate resources that, if utilised effectively, should enable them to deliver the programme at the required standards and levels of quality; and the programme meets the ICFP’s requirements in terms of the standards of learning and teaching.

Forensic practitioners are involved in preventing, detecting and investigating commercial crimes (such as fraud, corruption and money laundering). Forensic practitioners require skills and knowledge in accounting, criminal- and civil law, investigations and IT.  Investigations can include regulatory investigations (money laundering and bribery), criminal and civil investigations, as well as strategies to prevent and detect commercial crimes such as fraud risk assessments and forensic data analytics.

Typical tasks include:

  • Obtain and review financial documents to identify inaccuracies or fraud
  • Analyse financial data and trace discrepancies
  • Quantify revenue losses and damages from contract breaches
  • Conduct and implement fraud risk management programmes
  • Conduct interviews with suspects and witnesses
  • Provide litigation support and present findings to be used as trial evidence


North-West University

Hons BCom Forensic Accountancy

This degree is unique in South Africa and is accredited by the Institute of Commercial Forensic Practitioners (ICFP), the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants [specific terms apply in terms of SAICA and CIMA].



Postgraduate Diploma in Forensic Auditing

A Postgraduate Diploma: Forensic Auditing (PGDFA) learner is actively engaged in becoming a well-rounded, educated person and in preparing for further, more specific study or for the forensic auditing work environment. This qualification offers an advanced understanding of theories and practices pertaining to the field of Forensic Auditing



University of Pretoria

The courses developed by the Unit for Forensic Accounting, Department of Auditing, UP have been developed to enable
organisations to detect, investigate, prevent and manage the risks of fraud and corruption. Successful completion of a course
will enable organisations to manage the risks of criminal and civil sanctions for non-compliance as well as the reputational risk
associated with perceived or actual non-compliance.







NQF level 8
NQF level 8
Postgraduate Diploma in Investigation and Forensic Accounting at NQF 8 level
MPhil (Fraud Risk Management) at NQF 9 level