Recognition for prior learning


The ICFP Board examination consists of the following five modules:

  1. Commercial Forensic Investigation “CFI”
  2. Commercial Forensic Law “CFL”
  3. Commercial Forensic Information Technology “CFIT”
  4. Practice and Fraud Risk Management “PFRM”
  5. Commercial Forensic Accounting “CFA”

Recognition for prior learning

The ICFP has selected and contracted independent specialists to review industry-related courses offered by tertiary institutions.  This process was first introduced during 2014, and individuals will receive recognition for prior learning for the following accredited courses:

Commercial Forensic Law

  • University of Johannesburg – Diploma in Criminal Justice and Forensic Investigations
  • Any Institution – National Diploma: Police Administration
  • Any Institution – LLB
  • North-West University – BCom Forensic Accountancy
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal – Postgraduate Diploma in Forensic Investigation and Criminal Justice

Commercial Forensic Investigation

Commercial Forensic Accounting

  • Any Institution – Chartered Accountants “CA’s”
  • Any Institution – CTA obtained from a SAICA accredited tertiary institutions
  • Any University – BCom Accounting
  • North-West University – BCom Forensic Accountancy
  • Any University – BCom Internal Auditing
  • Any University – BCom provided that Accounting and Auditing were passed at the second-year level.(T&C apply)
  • Certified Fraud Examiners “CFE’s”

Commercial Forensic Information Technology

Practice and Fraud Risk Management

Other qualifications

Other qualifications will be reviewed as and when applications for recognition are received.